ADOPTION REPORT
REQUIRED TO ESTABLISH A NEW MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD
(To Be Submitted By The Court)

Has it been requested that a new certificate NOT be created? [ Yes ] No
If yes, the adoption does not need to be reported in the Vital Records Program.

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY AND LEGIBLY

INFORMATION REQUIRED TO CREATE THE ADOPTIVE BIRTH RECORD

Child’s Name First Middle Last

PARENT(S) INFORMATION* MOTHER FATHER

Current Legal Name First Middle Last First Middle Last
Name Before First Married First Middle Last

Date of Birth Month Day Year Month Day Year
State of Birth

(or country, if not USA)

* ] Check here if the parents should be listed as ‘Parent’ and ‘Parent’ rather than ‘Mother’ and ‘Father.’

**If the child’s date of birth is prior to 1989, the mother’s current legal name will not appear on a certified copy of the birth record, and the parents’ ages will
appear rather than their dates of birth.

PARENT(S) INFORMATION

Parent(s) name(s) and complete mailing address are needed to mail the new record. Please provide a phone number to
contact you if there are questions regarding the new record.

Name(s):

Mailing Address:

City / State / Zip:

Daytime phone to contact you: Area Code & Number | | | | - | | | | - | | | | |
PAYMENT — The fee for establishing a new Michigan birth SIGNATURE(S)

record following an adoption is $40.00 and includes one

copy of the new record. Additional copies of the new record Personal data of adoptive parents and child’s name after adoption
are available for $12.00 each when ordered at the same should be reviewed and signed before the section for

time. Payment must be made by check or money order “Information Needed to Identify Original Birth Record” is

and made payable to the “State of Michigan.” The new completed. The form should be signed by the adoptive parent(s).
birth record will not be created until the recording fee The adoptive parent(s) should verify information listed for the
has been paid. adoptee.

Establish New Birth Record $40.00 $40.00

Following an Adoption (Fee includes
one (1) certified copy of the record.)

. o . K signature of Person Adopting
Additional Certified Copies $12.00 $

Each

TOTAL ENCLOSED: $ K Signature of Husband, Wife or Other Person Adopting




INFORMATION NEEDED TO IDENTIFY ORIGINAL BIRTH RECORD

Child’s name at Birth First Middle Last
Child’s Gender [ Male [ Female

Child’s Date of Birth Month Day Year
Child’s Place of Birth City County

Name of Birthing Hospital
(If Available)

Biological Mother's Name
Before First Married First Middle

Last

COURT CERTIFICATION

The Family Division of Circuit Court of County, Michigan

I hereby certify that the child named above was adopted in accordance with Michigan law on

(Month, Day, Year)
by the parent(s) listed as the parent(s) for the adoptive birth record, as set forth in the final decree of adoption.

CASE NO.

Judge

By

SEAL Clerk of the Court

For additional information:
Vital Records Changes
(517) 335-8660
Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm ET

MAIL REPORT AND PROPER FEE TO:
Vital Records Changes

P.O. Box 30721
Lansing, MI 48909

DCH-0854 Rev 01/2005 MCL 333.2829(1), MCL 333.283(a) and 333.2891(9)(a)




